

GRULAC ORDINARY SESSION

Friday, April 4, 2025 (from 3 to 6 pm)

Room: Concert Hall, Level 1 (Tashkent City Congress Centre)

(English interpretation) provided by the IPU)

PRELIMINARY AGENDA¹

Item 1

Welcome remarks by GRULAC President Manzoor Nadir (Guyana)

Item 2

Approval of the Agenda of GRULAC's session at the 150th IPU Assembly

Item 3

Approval of the Minutes of GRULAC sessions held on the occasion of the 149th IPU Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland (October 2024). They are available on the GRULAC Secretariat website: www.secretariagrulacuip.org

Item 4

Report by the Secretariat on various topics of interest to GRULAC.

Item 5

Address by the President of the IPU, Dr. Tulia Ackson

Item 6

4pm: Address by the Secretary General Martin Chungong: reporting on the result of the official visits to Costa Rica and Colombia, accompanied by the Secretary General of GRULAC Oscar Piquinela and IPU staff Mauricio Huertas (Division on External Relations and Relations with IPU Member Parliaments)

Item 7

Reports:

- Members of the Executive Committee
- Members of other IPU statutory bodies

Item 8

Report of the President of the Bureau of Women MPs, Senator Cynthia López Castro, on the First Global Conference on Women MPs of the IPU, held in Mexico City, 13-16 March 2025

Item 9

Examination of requests for an emergency item to be included in the Assembly agenda

Item 10

Appointment of 2 delegates to the Drafting Committee of the Emergency Item

¹ Updated on 31 March, 2025 - Time 2.30 pm

Item 11

Vacancies to be filled by GRULAC at the 150th IPU Assembly:

EXCLUSIVE GRULAC VACANCIES:

- First Standing Committee on Peace and International Security: <u>2 vacancies</u> (to be filled by at least one man) to replace Ms. A.C. Dartora (Brazil) who has not attended two consecutive sessions and Mr. L. Baez (Dominican Republic) who has resigned from the Committee.
- Second Standing Committee on Sustainable Development: 3 vacancies (gender considerations must be taken into account), replacing Ms. E. Cuesta Santana (Ecuador) and Ms. S. Parag (Guyana), whose terms end at the 150th Assembly; and Ms. I. Moreira (Uruguay), who is no longer a parliamentarian and whose term ended in 2026.
 Note: Members of parliament from Ecuador and Guyana cannot apply; they must wait 2 years to rejoin the Bureau of this Committee.
 - o On March 21, the candidacy of Mr. César Rendón, MP (Mexico) was received.
- Third Standing Committee on Democracy and Human Rights: <u>2 vacancies (2 women or 1 woman and 1 man)</u>, replacing Ms. S. Nane (Uruguay), whose term ends at the 150th Assembly, and Ms. MdCAlva Prieto (Peru), who was elected to the Executive Committee at the 149th Assembly.

Note: Uruguay is not eligible for this vacancy. It must wait 2 years to rejoin the Bureau of this Committee.

In accordance with the Rules of the Standing Committees:

- Members of the Bureau shall be elected for a term of two years and may be re-elected for a further period of two years.
- When a member of the Bureau has served for four consecutive years, two years must elapse before that person may again be elected to the same Bureau.
- Representatives of the same Member Parliament shall not simultaneously hold more than one post as President or Vice-President of a Standing Committee, or hold a post in the same body for more than four consecutive years.
- Members of a Bureau who are absent for two consecutive sessions, without a valid reason, may lose their seat on the Bureau by a decision of the corresponding Committee. In such cases, a new election will be held at the next session of the Standing Committee to fill the respective vacancy.
- 4. Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians: 1 vacancy (preferably a man MP to keep gender balance within the Committee) to replace Ms. C. Asiaín (Uruquay), who ceased to be a parliamentarian
 - o Mr. Rodrigo Blanco, MP (Paraguay) submitted his candidacy to the UIP.

Note: The candidate(s) interested in occupying this vacancy should belong to a Parliament that is a member of the Group of Latin America and the Caribbean. At the same time, it is important to point out that members of the Committee do not serve as <u>representatives</u> of their Parliament or geopolitical group as they are elected in their individual capacity on the basis of their competence, commitment to human rights and availability.

Parliamentarians from the indicated region wishing to become a member of this Committee are required to meet a set of distinct criteria. Candidates are therefore requested to complete the <u>form available on the IPU website</u>. Candidatures may be submitted up to <u>09:00 on</u> Tuesday, 8 April 2025.

- 5. **Bureau of Women Parliamentarians: 2 vacancies (women)** to replace Ms. A. Sagasti (Argentina) and Ms. L. Carneiro (Brazil), whose terms end at the 150th Assembly.
 - On March 20, the candidacy of Senator María Mercedes Ortíz (Dominican Republic) was received.
- 6. **Bureau of Young Parliamentarians: 2 vacancies (one man and one woman)**, replacing Ms. P. Aguirre (Ecuador) and Mr. W. Soto (Peru), whose terms end at the 150th Assembly.
 - On March 20, the candidacy of Mr. Luis Báez, MP (Dominican Republic) was received.

Note: According to Article 5.3 of the Forum Rules: "The Bureau shall be composed of two representatives from each of the IPU geopolitical groups, one man and one woman," **under the age of 40**.

- 7. **High-Level Advisory Group on Countering Terrorism and Violent Extremism: 1 vacancy (male or female)** to replace Mr. J. Gandini (Uruguay), who is no longer a member of parliament.
- 8. Working Group on Science and Technology: 2 vacancies (2 men or 1 man and 1 woman) to replace Mr. F. Ollisco Barrero (Bolivia) and Mr. M. Bouva (Suriname), whose terms of office expire at the 150th Assembly.
 - On March 28, the candidacy of **Sen. Silvia Nane (Uruguay)** was received.

VACANCIES NOT EXCLUSIVE TO GRULAC

9. Committee on Health

At its 214th Session, the Governing Council decided to upgrade the IPU Health Advisory Group to the status of a Health Committee. In accordance with the rules of procedure of the newly established Committee, the Governing Council will elect 15 members on 9 April 2025.

It should be noted that while as many geopolitical groups as possible should be represented on the Committee, Committee members are elected on an individual basis on the basis of their interests, subject matter expertise and availability to attend all Committee sessions, and not as representatives of their Parliament or geopolitical group.

According to the Committee's rules, no more than eight members should be of the same sex and as many geopolitical groups as possible should be represented.

Parliamentarians wishing to become members of this Committee must meet a number of specific criteria. Candidates are therefore requested to complete the form available on the IPU website. Applications may be submitted <u>until 09:00 hours on Tuesday 8 April 2025.</u>

IMPORTANT: Article 22 of GRULAC Rules:

"ARTICLE 22.- RESPONSIBILITIES .-

- 1. Any candidacy for a position in the IPU representing the Group must be submitted in writing to the GRULAC Secretariat, together with the endorsement of the highest authority of the corresponding Parliament, in order to ensure their participation.
- 2. No country may hold more than three positions in total in the IPU, even if they are appointed by the IPU President.

Item 12

Other issues.

Manzoor Nadir
President of GRULAC

Oscar Piquinela

Secretary General of GRULAC